13,99 €
Versandkostenfrei*
inkl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
7 °P sammeln
  • Broschiertes Buch

"It's Slaughter's prodigious gifts of characterization that make her stand out among thriller writers." - Washington Post
From the New York Times bestselling author of PIECES OF HER, comes an electrifying thriller featuring newly minted US Marshal Andrea Oliver as she investigates a cold case with links to her father's past.
A small town hides a big secret...
Who killed Emily Vaughn?
A girl with a secret...
Longbill Beach, 1982. Emily Vaughn gets ready for the prom. For an athlete, who is smart, pretty and well-liked, this night that should be the highlight of her high
…mehr

Produktbeschreibung
"It's Slaughter's prodigious gifts of characterization that make her stand out among thriller writers." - Washington Post

From the New York Times bestselling author of PIECES OF HER, comes an electrifying thriller featuring newly minted US Marshal Andrea Oliver as she investigates a cold case with links to her father's past.

A small town hides a big secret...

Who killed Emily Vaughn?

A girl with a secret...

Longbill Beach, 1982. Emily Vaughn gets ready for the prom. For an athlete, who is smart, pretty and well-liked, this night that should be the highlight of her high school career. But Emily has a secret. And by the end of the evening, that secret will be silenced forever.

An unsolved murder...

Forty years later, Emily's murder remains a mystery. Her tight-knit group of friends closed ranks; her respected, wealthy family retreated inwards; the small town moved on from her grisly attack. But all that's about to change.

One final chance to uncover a killer...

US Marshal Andrea Oliver arrives in Longbill Beach on her first assignment: to protect a judge receiving death threats. But, in reality, Andrea is there to find justice for Emily. The killer is still out there - and Andrea must discover the truth before she gets silenced, too...

Autorenporträt
Karin Slaughter is the author of more than twenty instant New York Times bestselling novels, including the Edgar?nominated Cop Town and standalone novels Pretty Girls, The Good Daughter, and Pieces of Her. She is published in 120 countries with more than 40 million copies sold across the globe. Pieces of Her is a Netflix original series starring Toni Collette, and False Witness, the Grant County, and Will Trent series are in development for television. Slaughter is the founder of the Save the Libraries project?a nonprofit organization established to support libraries and library programming. A native of Georgia, she lives in Atlanta.
Rezensionen
"A propulsive, high-stakes thriller rife with intrigue and suspense." - USA Today on Pieces of Her

"All of Slaughter's books... are satisfyingly surprising and plausible, but it's Slaughter's prodigious gifts of characterization that make her stand out among thriller writers...Slaughter's satirical touches are as deft as her grimmer renditions of real life." - Washington Post on Pieces of Her

"The ever-popular crime novelist is back with another pulse-pounding standalone, this one considering the twisted relationship between a mother and a daughter after the latter realizes she may not know the woman who gave birth to her at all." - Entertainment Weekly on Pieces of Her

"Cunningly conceived and written . . . Deeply satisfying." - Washington Post on False Witness

"Annnnd she does it again. Slaughter's latest high-stakes thriller follows a defense attorney whose dark past is coming back to haunt her-all thanks to a new client she's called in to represent days before his trial. There's deception, sabotage, violence, family secrets . . . all the stuff you could want from a fictional page-turner, really." - theSkimm on False Witness

"If you're into mystery thrillers, then you're into Karin Slaughter." - theSkimm

"Expect from a Karin Slaughter crime thriller . . . just the right amount of twists, turns, shocks, surprises and domestic thrill and shrill." - Parade

"Karin Slaughter's False Witness is a twisty, searingly contemporary mystery steeped in a dark past, and she weaves a story that catches your breath and keeps you gasping and guessing until the end." - Stacey Abrams, author of While Justice Sleeps, on False Witness

"Slaughter offers us a high-stakes thriller that handles the tragedy of addiction with empathy and grace. Her heroines are believable, flawed and courageous." - Oyinkan Braithwaite, award-winning author of My Sister, The Serial Killer, on False Witness

"Her talent is the equivalent of an Edgar Allan Poe or a Nathaniel Hawthorne . . . An exemplary storyteller, weaving her words with skill and intelligence. She will be recognized as one of the great talents of the 21st century and will hold an honored place in the realm of world literature." - The Huffington Post

"Slaughter's work is like a professional athlete coming to the playground to show the kids how it's done. With her themes, tensions and metaphors, she has a talent for classic literature that is often missing in recent fiction." - RT Book Reviews

"One of the boldest thriller writers working today." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author

"Fiction doesn't get any better than this." - Jeffery Deaver, New York Times bestselling author

"Her characters, plot, and pacing are unrivaled among thriller writers, and if you haven't yet read her, this is the moment." - Michael Connelly, New York Times bestselling author

"The emotionally sophisticated characters work through the brutality of their jobs in this dynamic psychological thriller and police procedural that will please readers of Slaughter's "Grant County" series. For fans of Meg Gardiner, David Baldacci, and Carrie Smith." - Library Journal on The Silent Wife

"[False Witness] will keep readers transfixed. Slaughter is writing at the top of her game." - Publishers Weekly (starred review) on False Witness

"Slaughter doesn't save her twists for the end, instead peppering them throughout the intricately layered story amid stomach-churning near misses and gripping character revelations. Equal parts hyperrealistic thriller and epic tragedy, Slaughter's latest is pitch-perfect storytelling." - Booklist (starred review) on False Witness

"Slaughter has written a wickedly sharp and arresting tour de force that blends a riveting plot and emotional subterfuge with the kind of propulsive prose that makes False Witness absolutely unputdownable." - Lauren Francis-Sharma, author of Book of the Little Axe, on False Witness

"Karin Slaughter is a master of the thriller genre and her genius comes through on every page, in every character, through every plot twist. False Witness is so suspenseful, it's tension palpable, and the action so visual, I can't wait to see its brilliance in film." - Francesca Momplaisir, critically-acclaimed author of My Mother's House

"Slaughter's eye for detail and truth are unmatched." - Gillian Flynn

…mehr
'This first-class detective thriller is a dark, sophisticated gem of a read' Janice Hallett, author of The Appeal

'An effortlessly accomplished thriller' The Times

Praise for Karin Slaughter

'Heart-stopping one moment, heart-breaking the next' Cara Hunter, author of All the Rage

'Her heroines are believable, flawed and courageous' Oyinkan Braithwaite, author of My Sister, The Serial Killer

'Absorbing' Sunday Times

'I'd follow her anywhere' Gillian Flynn

'One of the boldest thriller writers working today' Tess Gerritsen

'Her characters, plot, and pacing are unrivalled' Michael Connelly

'Passion, intensity, and humanity' Lee Child

'A writer of extraordinary talents' Kathy Reichs

'Fiction doesn't get any better than this' Jeffery Deaver

'A great writer at the peak ofher powers' Peter James

'Karin Slaughter has - by far - the best name of all of us mystery novelists' James Patterson

'It's big, dark, rich, satisfying, and bloody - like a perfectly cooked steak' Stuart MacBride

'The queen of the explosive thriller' Good Housekeeping

'Rich characters and deft plotting make this an unputdownable story that will move you to the core. This is Slaughter's best yet' Camilla Lackberg, author of the Fjallbacka series

'A twisty, searingly contemporary mystery steeped in a dark past...catches your breath and keeps you gasping and guessing until the end' Stacey Abrams, author of While Justice Sleeps

'Karin Slaughter is a master of the thriller genre' Francesca Momplaisir, author of My Mother's House

'Gripping, gruesome and emotionally powerful, this is Slaughter doing what she does best' Mail on Sunday

'As sharp and absorbing as ever' Guardian

'Slaughter's novel is both a page-turner and a protest about how often sexual violence is overlooked' Sunday Times
…mehr