Bisher 14,99 €**
11,99 €
versandkostenfrei*

inkl. MwSt.
**Früherer Preis
Sofort lieferbar
6 °P sammeln
    Broschiertes Buch

1 Kundenbewertung

A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: Washington Post NPR Entertainment Weekly Real Simple Marie Claire New York Public Library LibraryReads The Skimm Lit Hub Lit Reactor
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A captivating family saga. The New York Times Book Review This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt. People Magazine (Book of the Week)
If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?
It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell
…mehr

Produktbeschreibung
A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: Washington Post NPR Entertainment Weekly Real Simple Marie Claire New York Public Library LibraryReads The Skimm Lit Hub Lit Reactor

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A captivating family saga. The New York Times Book Review

This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt. People Magazine (Book of the Week)

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness sneak out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.
  • Produktdetails
  • Verlag: G.P. Putnam's Sons / Penguin US
  • INT
  • Seitenzahl: 352
  • Erscheinungstermin: 9. Januar 2018
  • Englisch
  • Abmessung: 228mm x 151mm x 27mm
  • Gewicht: 424g
  • ISBN-13: 9780735218406
  • ISBN-10: 0735218404
  • Artikelnr.: 49083425
Autorenporträt
Chloe Benjamin is the author of the New York Times bestseller The Immortalists. Her first novel, The Anatomy of Dreams, received the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was long listed for the 2014 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. She is a graduate of Vassar College and the M.F.A. in fiction at the University of Wisconsin. She lives with her husband in Madison, WI.
Rezensionen
#1 Indie Next Pick
#1 LibraryReads Pick

One of...
Newsweek s 50 Coolest Books to Read This Summer
Good Morning America s Best Books to Bring to the Beach This Summer
Elle s 19 of the Best Books to Read This Winter
Harper's Bazaar s 10 New Books to Add to Your Reading List in 2018
Southern Living s Books Coming Out This Winter That We Can t Wait to Read
Martha Stewart Living, On Our Bookshelf
InStyle s 10 Books We Can t Wait to Read in 2018
Huffington Post s 60 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018
W Magazine s 10 Unconventional New Books About Love For Valentine's Day
Popsugar s 25 Must-Read Books for Fall
Bustle s 35 Most-Anticipated Fiction Books of 2018
Nylon s 50 Books We Can t Wait To Read In 2018
Goop s 12 Books for Winter Break
BookPage s Most Anticipated Fiction of 2018
Book Riot s 101 Books Coming Out in 2018 That You Should Mark Down Now
HelloGiggles Most Anticipated Books of 2018
PureWow s 20 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018
Goodreads Most Anticipated Books of 2018
Book Riot s Most Anticipated Books of January 2018
TimeOut s Eleven New Books to Read This Month

A literary page-turner...A really compelling plotline. The Wall Street Journal

The only real magic here is Benjamin s storytelling....Poignant...A testimony of love. The Washington Post

[An] amazing work of fiction...A dense, yet beautifully spun and satisfying tale that spans 50 years...Spare, yet gorgeously robust prose...and every page is imbued with [Benjamin s] obvious storytelling skill....Begin 2018 with the book that could easily retain the year s top spot, The Immortalists is a can t-put-down, makes-you-think tale of a not-so-average American family. Associated Press

The book spans decades, touching on the AIDs crisis, 9/11, race, and marriage. But, at its core, it s an examination of free will and fate. The New Yorker

The reader will likely be thoroughly taken by the world of the Gold siblings, in all its shades of brilliant color. It's not a totally comfortable realm, since we know all too well how this tale's going to end, but getting there is lovely. NPR.org

Search no further for your inaugural 2018 book club pick. Elle

Thrilling. Marie Claire

A compelling family drama. Esquire

Centered on four siblings and spanning decades, The Immortalists asks a seemingly simple yet unimaginably complex question: If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life? The search for the answer makes for a sprawling, enchanting family saga. Entertainment Weekly (Must-List)

Chloe Benjamin's family saga deftly explores destiny versus choice. US Weekly

A family saga about love, destiny, living life and making choices that will cause readers to consider what to do with the time given them on this earth. Huffington Post

Benjamin s tale is propulsive and colorful, capturing moving truths about the way we handle the knowledge that we all eventually die....The premise...is brilliant and simple. Chicago Tribune

Chloe Benjamin is a novelist to watch....The Immortalists weaves together philosophy and fortune-telling, to great effect....As deft and dizzying as a high-wire act...the reader is beguiled with unexpected twists and stylish, crisp prose....Unwittingly, this ambitious, unorthodox tale may change you too. The Economist

Compelling. InStyle

As you follow [the siblings] toward their fates in this magical family saga, you ll appreciate the unexpected in your own life. Redbook

A moving novel about the deep bonds of family. Southern Living

Beautifully written and intricately detailed, it's impossible to put down and sure to be one of those books you've got to re-read again and again. Popsugar

Intriguing premise...Beautifully written story. AARP

Suspenseful, compassionate, inquisitive, and wholly captivating. Bustle

"Continually ratcheting up the tension...A Jewish-American family saga. Newsday

"[A] captivating family saga...Each of these four narrative strands is a mini marvel, but together they form a hauntingly beautiful tapestry of familial love and loss." Lit Hub

Magical...There are moments as taut as a thriller, where time disappears as you turn pages; and passages of quiet compassion. The Seattle Times

"[A] gorgeous, sweeping novel." American Banker

[Benjamin] casts a spell with...her affecting family saga. Minneapolis Star Tribune

A sweeping epic that will enchant you from cover to cover. Paste Magazine

A page turner, as addictive as it is emotionally searing...Captivating, moving and addictive. It makes you think, feel, fall in love, and question how to best live your days left on earth. Lambda Literary

An intriguing setup for an immersive family saga. Toronto Star

Chloe Benjamin s The Immortalists is the very best kind of literary thriller, its suspense deriving from characters we care about deeply and surprises that feel embedded in our shared humanity. As profound a meditation on destiny as readers are likely to encounter. Richard Russo

For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. A memorable and heartfelt look at what might happen to a family who knows too much. It's amazing how good this book is. Karen Joy Fowler

A beautiful, compassionate, and even joyful novel. Chloe Benjamin has written an inspiring book that makes you think hard about what you want to do with the time you re given. This is not really a book about dying it's a book about how to live. Nathan Hill, author of The Nix…mehr
A boundlessly moving inquisition into mortality, grief and passion...The Immortalists is not just a novel about grief; it conjures characters with such dimension that you mourn them too, a magic rare enough to leave one astonished Observer