7,99 €
inkl. MwSt.

Sofort lieferbar
payback
4 °P sammeln
  • Broschiertes Buch

Trained at Miss Prestons School of Combat for Negro Girls in both weaponry and etiquette, Jane McKeene is poised for a successful career protecting the wealthy from the encroaching plague of walking dead. But when families begin to go missing, Jane uncovers a conspiracy that pits her against some powerful enemies. Sent far from home, Jane will need all her resourcefulness, wit and strength of character to survive.A powerful, compelling tale of a young girls journey through a hostile world, Jane McKeene is an unforgettable protagonist, and Dread Nation is an unforgettable book.

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für
Produktbeschreibung
Trained at Miss Prestons School of Combat for Negro Girls in both weaponry and etiquette, Jane McKeene is poised for a successful career protecting the wealthy from the encroaching plague of walking dead. But when families begin to go missing, Jane uncovers a conspiracy that pits her against some powerful enemies. Sent far from home, Jane will need all her resourcefulness, wit and strength of character to survive.A powerful, compelling tale of a young girls journey through a hostile world, Jane McKeene is an unforgettable protagonist, and Dread Nation is an unforgettable book.
Autorenporträt
Justina Ireland is the New York Times bestselling author of Promise of Shadows, Vengeance Bound and the Devil's Pass series. A controversial and active figure in the YA community, she has an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Hamline University and started a database for sensitivity readers at Writing in the Margins. She has 17.4k Twitter followers and lives with her husband and child in Pennsylvania
Rezensionen
"This highly anticipated release is getting lauded as equal parts exciting, terrifying, and oh-so-relevant. Crackles on every page." - Brightly

"Ireland delivers a necessary, subversive, and explosive novel with her fantasy-laced alternate history that does the all-important work of exploring topics of oppression, racism, and slavery while simultaneously accomplishing so much more. Brilliant and gut-wrenching." - Booklist (starred review)

"Abundant action, thoughtful worldbuilding, and a brave, smart, and skillfully drawn cast entertain as Ireland (Promise of Shadows) illustrates the ignorance and immorality of racial discrimination and examines the relationship between equality and freedom. Mounting peril creates a pulse-pounding pace, hurtling readers toward a nail-biting conclusion." - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Will catch readers off-guard with its blend of genres: it starts out as an historical thriller but then tosses in hard hits of mystery, dystopian reimagining, romance, and humor. Jane's voice reads familiar to more contemporary considerations of Black girlhood, with elements such as beauty standards, colorism, and friendships." - Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)

"This absorbing page-turner works on multiple levels: as unflinching alternate history set in post-Reconstruction-era Maryland and Kansas; as a refreshingly subversive action story starring a badass heroine; as zombie fiction suspenseful; and as a compelling exhortation to scrutinize the racist underpinnings of contemporary American sociopolitical systems." - Horn Book (starred review)

"Ireland skillfully works in the different forms of enslavement, mental and physical, into a complex and engaging story. A perfect blend of horrors real and imagined, perfect for fans of The Walking Dead." - School Library Journal (starred review)

"Tremendously original, subversive, sharp, and all around badass, Dread Nation is not your mother's Civil War-era zombie story." - Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Dumplin'

"Dread Nation is everything I love-it's beautiful, unflinching, lyrical, tender, and vividly imagined. Don't miss this book!" - Ann Aguirre, New York Times bestseller and coauthor of Honor Among Thieves

"This is the zombie novel I've been waiting for my whole life." - Kate Elliott, New York Times bestselling author of Court of Fives
…mehr