Preis in Euro, inkl. MwSt.
Versandfertig in 2-4 Wochen
8 °P sammeln

  • Seitenzahl: 765
  • Erscheinungstermin: Januar 2007
  • Englisch
  • Abmessung: 204mm x 161mm x 32mm
  • Gewicht: 608g
  • ISBN-13: 9780446698900
  • ISBN-10: 0446698903
  • Artikelnr.: 22211758
<DIV>Octavia E. Butler (1947&ndash;2006) was a bestselling and award-winning author, considered one of the best science fiction writers of her generation. She received both the Hugo and Nebula awards, and in 1995 became the first author of science fiction to receive a MacArthur Fellowship. She was also awarded the prestigious PEN Lifetime Achievement Award in 2000. Her first novel, <I>Patternmaster</I> (1976), was praised both for its imaginative vision and for Butler&rsquo;s powerful prose, and spawned four prequels, beginning with <I>Mind of My Mind</I> (1977) and finishing with <I>Clay&rsquo;s Ark</I> (1984).<BR /><BR /> Although the Patternist series established Butler among the science fiction elite, it was <I>Kindred</I> (1979), a story of a black woman who travels back in time to the antebellum South, that brought her mainstream success. In 1985, Butler won Nebula and Hugo awards for the novella &ldquo;Bloodchild,&rdquo; and in 1987 she published <I>Dawn</I>, the first novel of the Xenogenesis trilogy, about a race of aliens who visit earth to save humanity from itself. <I>Fledgling</I> (2005) was Butler&rsquo;s final novel. She died at her home in 2006.</DIV>
“Richly evocative . . . particularly striking.” —Chicago Tribune
“Gripping.” —The New York Times Book Review
“Haunting . . . apocalyptic . . . compelling.” —Essence