Nicht lieferbar
1491 - Mann, Charles C.
Schade – dieser Artikel ist leider ausverkauft. Sobald wir wissen, ob und wann der Artikel wieder verfügbar ist, informieren wir Sie an dieser Stelle.
  • Broschiertes Buch

It was believed that in 1491, the year before Columbus landed, the Americas were a near-pristine wilderness inhabited by small roaming bands of indigenous people. Here, Charles Mann provides a new, fascinating and iconoclastic account of the Americas before Columbus.

Produktbeschreibung
It was believed that in 1491, the year before Columbus landed, the Americas were a near-pristine wilderness inhabited by small roaming bands of indigenous people. Here, Charles Mann provides a new, fascinating and iconoclastic account of the Americas before Columbus.
  • Produktdetails
  • Verlag: Granta Books
  • Seitenzahl: 576
  • Englisch
  • Abmessung: 197mm x 130mm x 32mm
  • Gewicht: 350g
  • ISBN-13: 9781862078765
  • Artikelnr.: 22018902
Inhaltsangabe
List of Maps
Preface

INTRODUCTION / Holmberg s Mistake

1. A View from Above

PART ONE / Numbers from Nowhere?

2. Why Billington Survived
3. In the Land of Four Quarters
4. Frequently Asked Questions

PART TWO / Very Old Bones

5. Pleistocene Wars
6. Cotton (or Anchovies) and Maize (Tales of Two Civilizations, Part I)
7. Writing, Wheels, and Bucket Brigades (Tales of Two Civilizations, Part II)

PART THREE / Landscape with Figures

8. Made in America
9. Amazonia
10. The Artificial Wilderness
11. The Great Law of Peace

Appendixes
A. Loaded Words
B. Talking Knots
C. The Syphilis Exception
D. Calendar Math

Acknowledgments
Notes
Bibliography
Index
Rezensionen
A superbly written and very important book: by far the most comprehensive synthesis I ve ever seen of the growing body of evidence that our most deep-rooted ideas about the peopling of the Western hemisphere and the kinds of societies that had developed there by the time of European contact are fundamentally wrong. Charles C. Mann is one of those rare writers who can make scholarly concepts exciting and accessible without trivializing them. In 1491 he has integrated the latest research in many different areas with his own insights and experiences to produce a fascinating and addictively readable tour through the New World before its discovery. His book is, above all, a wonderful, unsentimental act of restitution challenging centuries of cultural contempt and willful blindness to show just how vigorous, various, densely populated and profoundly human the pre-Columbian Americas really were.
James Wilson, author of
The Earth Shall Weep: A History
of Native America

In the tradition of Jared Diamond and John McPhee, a transforming new vision of pre-Columbian America.
Richard Rhodes

Every American knows it was a vast new world that Columbus found in 1492, and most imagine it was a thinly peopled paradise of plants, animals, and hunter-gatherers waiting for civilization. The reality, Charles C. Mann tells us in his startling new book about the world before Columbus, is very different two continents teeming with languages, cultures, and mighty cities as big, as rich, and even more populous than the capitals of Europe. But there was one thing the new world lacked resistance to the diseases of the old. This is a lively book, filled with excitements and sorrows a major contribution to our understanding of the achievements and the fate of the people we call Indians.
Tom Powers

Charles C. Mann takes us into a complex, fascinating, and unknown world, that of the Indians who lived in this hemisphere before Columbus. He gently demolishes entrenched myths, with impressive scholarship, and with an elegance of style which that makes his book a pleasure to read as well as a marvelous education.
Howard Zinn

When does American history begin? The old answer used to be 1492, with the European arrival in the Americas. That answer is no longer politically or historically correct. For the last thirty years or so historians, geographers, and archaeologists have built up an arsenal of evidence about the residents of North America after the ice receded and before the Europeans arrived. Mann has mastered that scholarship and written the most elegant synthesis of the way we were before the European invasion.
Joseph J. Ellis, author of
His Excellency: George Washington
…mehr
A journalistic masterpiece.
The New York Review of Books

Marvelous. . . . A sweeping portrait of human life in the Americas before the arrival of Columbus. . . . A remarkably engaging writer.
The New York Times Book Review
 
Fascinating. . . . A landmark of a book that drops ingrained images of colonial American into the dustbin, one after the other.
The Boston Globe

A ripping, man-on-the-ground tour of a world most of us barely intuit. . . . An exhilarating shift in perspective. . . . 1491 erases our myth of a wilderness Eden. It replaces that fallacy with evidence of a different genesis, exciting and closer to true.
The Cleveland Plain Dealer

Mann tells a powerful, provocative and important story. . . . 1491 vividly compels us to re-examine how we teach the ancient history of the Americas and how we live with the environmental consequences of colonization.
The Washington Post Book World

Engagingly written and utterly absorbing. . . . Part detective story, part epic and part tragedy.
The Miami Herald

Provocative. . . . A Jared Diamond-like volley that challenges prevailing thinking about global development. Mann has chronicled an important shift in our vision of world development, one out young children could end up studying in their text books when they reach junior high.
San Francisco Chronicle

Marvelous. . . . A revelation. . . . Our concept of pure wilderness untouched by grubby human hands must now be jettisoned.
The New York Sun

Monumental. . . . Mann slips in so many fresh, new interpretations of American history that it all adds up to a deeply subversive work.
Salon

Concise and brilliantly entertaining. . . . Reminiscent of John McPhee's eloquence with scientific detail.
Los Angeles Times
…mehr