Bisher 9,49 €**
8,99 €
versandkostenfrei*

inkl. MwSt.
**Früherer Preis
Sofort lieferbar
4 °P sammeln
    Broschiertes Buch

16-year-old Deka lives in Otera, where a woman's worth is tied to her purity. When Deka bleeds gold - the colour of impurity, of a demon - she faces eternal torture. She is saved by a mysterious woman who reveals the truth - Deka is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. Her choice: fight for the Emperor with her kin, or be destroyed...…mehr

Produktbeschreibung
16-year-old Deka lives in Otera, where a woman's worth is tied to her purity. When Deka bleeds gold - the colour of impurity, of a demon - she faces eternal torture. She is saved by a mysterious woman who reveals the truth - Deka is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. Her choice: fight for the Emperor with her kin, or be destroyed...
  • Produktdetails
  • Gilded
  • Verlag: Usborne Publishing
  • Seitenzahl: 411
  • Altersempfehlung: ab 14 Jahren
  • Erscheinungstermin: Februar 2021
  • Englisch
  • Abmessung: 198mm x 132mm x 30mm
  • Gewicht: 344g
  • ISBN-13: 9781474959575
  • ISBN-10: 1474959571
  • Artikelnr.: 58507956
Rezensionen
Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA fantasy. Refinery 29

Fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Mulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one. BuzzFeed

The girls are powerful, the danger is real, and the characters are engaging and diverse. Forna has accomplished something really special here, equal parts subversive and fun. Tor

Namina Forna introduces readers to an intricate, West African-inspired fantasy world. POPSUGAR

Total book candy for fans of Tomi Ayedemi's Children of Blood and Bone. PureWow

"A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold, The Gilded Ones lifts the veil of violent patriarchy and burns the idea of purity to the ground. Must read!" Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times Bestselling author of The Belles

Haunting, brutal, and oh-so-relevant. This book will suck you into a world where girls bleed gold, magic fills the air, and the real monsters hide behind words instead of claws. Roseanne A. Brown, New York Times bestselling author of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

An enthralling debut. The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful." Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks Forna as a debut to watch. Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

"Phenomenal and extraordinary! Forna's breathtaking use of language depicts a thrilling journey through an epic world, rife with danger and deception, as an obedient girl survives the patriarchy and becomes a warrior. Unquestionably, the best Fantasy of 2021." Kim Johnson, author of This is My America

An epic new fantasy with heart-stopping stakes and a fierce, persevering hero, The Gilded Ones is a dazzling and powerful debut. Elizabeth Lim, bestselling author of Spin the Dawn

A poignant examination of patriarchal oppression that ensnares its reader and doesn t let go. With a compelling main character and fresh magic system, it takes you on a journey of self-discovery through a fantastically built world with a burning mystery at its heart. Kalyn Josephson, author of The Storm Crow

While elements of action and social justice are strong, there is also mystery . . . readers will find themselves awestruck with satisfying revelation, leaving both a clean ending and desire for more.
Booklist, starred review

Female-led YA fantasy is an overcrowded genre, but Namina Forna brings a fresh perspective in her stormingly good debut . . . Action combines with an intense feminist story of sisterhood, where strength is found in female friendships and alliances. The Guardian

Brutal, brilliant, and ultimately hopeful, The Gilded Ones takes readers on
a stunning sci-fi fantasy ride. Nerdist

Formidable heroines and a thoughtful feminist myth-ology distinguish debut author Forna s West Africa inspired fantasy trilogy launch. Abundant action drives the pace, while a nuanced plot advocates social change by illustrating the myriad ways in which society cages and commodifies women. Publishers Weekly

All of the alaki girls have realistic and moving trauma as a result of actions wreaked on them both as human women and alaki, and strong female friendships stand at the forefront of this novel that will have readers thinking about it long after the last page. The Bulletin
…mehr