Bisher 9,49 €**
8,99 €
versandkostenfrei*

inkl. MwSt.
**Früherer Preis
Sofort lieferbar
4 °P sammeln
    Broschiertes Buch

'The book of the summer ... Kept me rapt until the final page' THE TIMES
'A sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it' David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY
'More than lives up to the hype ... Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers' lives' IRISH TIMES
'Droll, shrewd and unafraid - a winning debut' Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL
'I've been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan's pithy observations of her characters are the best I've read since Edward St Aubyn' OBSERVER
'A frankly sensational book' Pandora Sykes on THE HIGH
…mehr

Produktbeschreibung
'The book of the summer ... Kept me rapt until the final page' THE TIMES

'A sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it' David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY

'More than lives up to the hype ... Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers' lives' IRISH TIMES

'Droll, shrewd and unafraid - a winning debut' Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL

'I've been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan's pithy observations of her characters are the best I've read since Edward St Aubyn' OBSERVER

'A frankly sensational book' Pandora Sykes on THE HIGH LOW

'In the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Joan Rivers and Nora Ephron ... I found myself purring with pleasure. ...This is comic writing at the highest level' Craig Brown, DAILY MAIL

When you leave Ireland aged 22 to spend your parents' money, it's called a gap year. When Ava leaves Ireland aged 22 to make her own money, she's not sure what to call it, but it involves:

- a badly-paid job in Hong Kong, teaching English grammar to rich children;
- Julian, who likes to spend money on Ava and lets her move into his guest room;
- Edith, who Ava meets while Julian is out of town and actually listens to her when she talks;
- money, love, cynicism, unspoken feelings and unlikely connections.

Exciting times ensue.
  • Produktdetails
  • Verlag: Orion Publishing Group / W&N
  • Artikelnr. des Verlages: 727325
  • Seitenzahl: 288
  • Erscheinungstermin: 4. März 2021
  • Englisch
  • Abmessung: 198mm x 132mm x 25mm
  • Gewicht: 280g
  • ISBN-13: 9781474613460
  • ISBN-10: 1474613462
  • Artikelnr.: 60118974
Autorenporträt
Dolan, Naoise§Naoise Dolan is an Irish writer born in Dublin. She studied English Literature at Trinity College Dublin and Oxford University. EXCITING TIMES is her first novel, an excerpt from which was published in The Stinging Fly. EXCITING TIMES has been longlisted for the Women's Prize and the Dylan Thomas Prize, and shortlisted for the An Post Irish Book Awards, Dalkey Literary Awards and Waterstones Book of the Year. Naoise was also shortlisted for the Sunday Times / University of Warwick Young Writer of the Year Award in 2020.
Rezensionen
I had real fun with EXCITING TIMES. It is a very funny, spiky, Marxist, feminist comedy and it's really mean. Zadie Smith
"A love story packed with irony and introspection." Elle