-62%
4,99 €
Statt 12,99 €**
4,99 €
inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Broschiertes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar
2 °P sammeln
-62%
4,99 €
Statt 12,99 €**
4,99 €
inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Broschiertes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Alle Infos zum eBook verschenken
2 °P sammeln
Als Download kaufen
Statt 12,99 €**
-62%
4,99 €
inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Broschiertes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar
2 °P sammeln
Jetzt verschenken
Statt 12,99 €**
-62%
4,99 €
inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Broschiertes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Alle Infos zum eBook verschenken
2 °P sammeln
  • Format: ePub


A mind-bending work of literary fiction from one of South Korea's hottest new novelists. Cabinet 13 looks like an old, ordinary cabinet. But it is filled with stories - peculiar, strange, eye popping, disgusting, enraging, and touching stories. The life of the man who manages cabinet 13, an ordinary office manager, is similarly filled with stories. Kim Un-Su intricately interweaves the all these stories with precise prose and in rich style, and will leave you thinking about the stories inside your own cabinet long after you turn the final page.…mehr

  • Geräte: eReader
  • mit Kopierschutz
  • eBook Hilfe
  • Größe: 2.84MB
  • FamilySharing(5)
Produktbeschreibung
A mind-bending work of literary fiction from one of South Korea's hottest new novelists. Cabinet 13 looks like an old, ordinary cabinet. But it is filled with stories - peculiar, strange, eye popping, disgusting, enraging, and touching stories. The life of the man who manages cabinet 13, an ordinary office manager, is similarly filled with stories. Kim Un-Su intricately interweaves the all these stories with precise prose and in rich style, and will leave you thinking about the stories inside your own cabinet long after you turn the final page.

Dieser Download kann aus rechtlichen Gründen nur mit Rechnungsadresse in A, B, BG, CY, CZ, D, DK, EW, E, FIN, F, GR, HR, H, I, LT, L, LR, M, NL, PL, P, R, S, SLO, SK ausgeliefert werden.

  • Produktdetails
  • Verlag: Watkins Media
  • Seitenzahl: 400
  • Erscheinungstermin: 12. Oktober 2021
  • Englisch
  • ISBN-13: 9780857669247
  • Artikelnr.: 60932132
Autorenporträt
Un-Su Kim made his debut as a writer in 2002 through the Jinju News Fall Literary Contest with short stories, Easy Breezy Writing Class and Dan Valjean Street and the 2003 DongA Ilbo Spring Literary Contest with his mid-length novel Farewell, Friday. His first full-length novel The Cabinet received the 12th Munhakdongne Novel Award.
Rezensionen
"[A] brilliant mosaic novel...These stories straddle the lines between science fiction, fantasy, fairy tale, and acute reality."
- Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Deftly translated by award-winning Halbert, Kim s latest import...again showcases his sly, surreal, dark humor about all the ways humans are, well, not particularly human."
Booklist

"What begins as a rather whimsical set of stories turns into a much darker novel, raising issues of difference and acceptance, what people must do to survive, and what is truly monstrous."
the Guardian

"Surprising and enchanting"
The Washington Post

"Un-su Kim is a tremendous writer."
Scott Smith, author of A Simple Plan

"This charming and fantastical book is sure to introduce Kim to a whole new legion of weird fiction fans, ideal for readers of Han Kang s The Vegetarian and the works of Haruki Murakami."
Chicago Review of Books

"The Cabinet is an anti-capitalist narrative at its core, one that makes explicit the arbitrariness of capitalist expectations and assumptions. Kim deftly juggles both macro-level and micro-level ideas about social roles, purpose, and personal narrative. More of a thought experiment than a thriller, The Cabinet is a lighthearted, amusing read that nonetheless dives into some deep philosophical topics."
Strange Horizons
…mehr