-29%
8,49 €
Statt 11,99 €**
8,49 €
inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Broschiertes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar
0 °P sammeln
-29%
8,49 €
Statt 11,99 €**
8,49 €
inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Broschiertes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Alle Infos zum eBook verschenken
0 °P sammeln
Als Download kaufen
Statt 11,99 €**
-29%
8,49 €
inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Broschiertes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar
0 °P sammeln
Jetzt verschenken
Statt 11,99 €**
-29%
8,49 €
inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Broschiertes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Alle Infos zum eBook verschenken
0 °P sammeln
  • Format: ePub

2 Kundenbewertungen


THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
From the bestselling author of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Everything is Illuminated and We are the Weather - a rich and moving novel about modern family lives and the ties that bind
'Towering and glorious: a tale of social, familial and marital breakdown and the End of the World. The funniest literary novel I have ever read' The Times

'A rich, beautifully written, ambitious and grandly moving novel, which looks both at the world at large and at the deepest concerns of individual lives' Evening Standard

'Lays bare the interior
…mehr

  • Geräte: eReader
  • mit Kopierschutz
  • eBook Hilfe
  • Größe: 3.05MB
Produktbeschreibung
THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From the bestselling author of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Everything is Illuminated and We are the Weather - a rich and moving novel about modern family lives and the ties that bind


'Towering and glorious: a tale of social, familial and marital breakdown and the End of the World. The funniest literary novel I have ever read' The Times

'A rich, beautifully written, ambitious and grandly moving novel, which looks both at the world at large and at the deepest concerns of individual lives' Evening Standard

'Lays bare the interior of a marriage with such intelligence and deep feeling and pitiless clarity, it's impossible to read it and not re-examine your own family' Time

'Astonishing. So sad and so funny and so wry' Scotland on Sunday

Jacob and Julia Bloch are about to be tested . . .

By Jacob's grandfather, who won't go quietly into a retirement home.
By the family reunion, that everyone is dreading.
By their son's heroic attempts to get expelled.
And by the sexting affair that will rock their marriage.

A typical modern American family, the Blochs cling together even as they are torn apart. Which is when catastrophe decides to strike . . .

Confronting the enduring question of what it means to be human with inventiveness, playfulness and compassion, Here I Am is a great American family novel for our times, an unmissable read for fans of Jonathan Franzen and Michael Chabon, a masterpiece about how we live now.


Dieser Download kann aus rechtlichen Gründen nur mit Rechnungsadresse in A, B, BG, CY, CZ, D, DK, EW, E, FIN, F, GR, HR, H, IRL, I, LT, L, LR, M, NL, PL, P, R, S, SLO, SK ausgeliefert werden.

  • Produktdetails
  • Verlag: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Seitenzahl: 320
  • Erscheinungstermin: 6. September 2016
  • Englisch
  • ISBN-13: 9780241966372
  • Artikelnr.: 44714955
Autorenporträt
Jonathan Safran Foer
Rezensionen
"[Here I Am is] an ambitious platter of intellection and emotion. Its observations are crisp; its intimations of doom resonate; its jokes are funny. Here I Am consistently lit up my pleasure centers . . . This is also Mr. Foer's best and most caustic novel, filled with so much pain and regret that your heart sometimes struggles to hold it all . . . This book offers intensities on every page. Once put down it begs . . . to be picked back up . . . Here I Am has more teeming life in it than several hundred well-meaning and well-reviewed books of midlist fiction put together." -Dwight Garner, The New York Times

"Dazzling . . . A profound novel about the claims of identity, history, family, and the burdens of a broken world." -Maureen Corrigan, NPR's "Fresh Air"

"Here I Am is one of those books, like Middlemarch, or for that matter Gone Girl, which lays bare the interior of a marriage with such intelligence and deep feeling and pitiless clarity, it's impossible to read it and not re-examine your own family, and your place in it." -Lev Grossman, Time

"Brilliant, always original . . . Certain set pieces . . show a masterly sense of timing and structure and deep feeling . . . Foer strews small, semiprecious comic and gnomic gems all along the trail he is breaking . . Here I Am is not only the novel's title but also, maybe, an announcement of its ambitious and crazy-talented author's literary residence-an announcement that not only his location but his basic sensibility and very identity are to be found in this work." -Daniel Menaker, The New York Times Book Review

"Here I Am, Jonathan Safran Foer's third novel, makes of his readers a battalion of Alices, constantly shrinking and growing as they fall prey to seductive narrative inducements. At one moment we are considering the rage that can simmer within a marriage, the next we're pondering the imminent destruction of Israel - in the world of the novel, not imaginary but real. The minutiae of domestic life and individual idiosyncrasy are so involving . . . [And] its structure is more reflective of its themes and concerns than is at first apparent. The atomisation of its central family unit is deeply unsettling . . . For all this, Here I Am is endearingly funny, its one-liners and comic hyperboles undercutting its inherent melancholy. Set pieces delight . . . And it is also a novel about the inevitable and incomprehensible tragedy of the baton passing between generations." -Alex Clark, The Guardian

"Here I Am is a wondrous novel, one of the most memorable books in years. Jonathan Safran Foer is never intimidated by big, bold topics (Israel's potential demise) but also unafraid to grapple with one of the oldest but smallest themes of Western literature ("Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way"). There's no American novelist today who writes so profoundly about teenage angst (especially boys), about the dynamics of closely-knit families, about sibling relationships, about parental fears of failure with their children. Nor is there anyone who writes dialogue (quick repartee, puns, intentional non sequiturs, irony and put-downs) as well as Foer . . . Jonathan Safran Foer has reinvented the novel about the American Jewish experience. His works are the rightful heir to the novels by Bernard Malamud and Saul Bellow, deceased, and Philip Roth, who has said he has stopped writing." -Charles R. Larson, Counterpunch

"[A] startling and urgent novel . . . There are scenes so sad and so funny and so wry that I texted a friend repeatedly as I was reading it, just to say "goodness me!" . . . [T]he soul, if you will, of this novel is not in its technique, but in its soulfulness. It is a novel about why we love and how we love and how we might stop loving. It is humane in that no character is a caricature. Foer has become the novelist we deserve . . . [He has] stretched and expanded the possibilities of the novel without losing either intellectual i
…mehr
"Foer's intensely imagined and richly rewarding novel...is a teeming saga of members of the [Bloch] family....Throughout, his dark wit drops in zingers of dialogue, leavening his melancholy assessments of the loneliness of human relationships and a world riven by ethnic hatred. He poses several thorny moral questions, among them how to have religious faith in the modern world, and what American Jews' responsibilities are toward Israel. That he can provide such a redemptive denouement, at once poignant, inspirational, and compassionate, is the mark of a thrillingly gifted writer." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Foer's...polyphonic and boldly comedic tale of one family's quandaries astutely and forthrightly confronts humankind's capacity for the ludicrous and the profound, cruelty, and love." -Booklist (starred, boxed review)

"[Here I Am] showcases Foer's emotional dexterity even as it takes place across a wider canvas than his previous books....This is great stuff, written with the insight of someone who has navigated the crucible of family, who understands how small slights lead to crises, the irreconcilability of love....Sharply observed." -Kirkus Reviews