Reframing Academic Leadership (eBook, PDF) - Gallos, Joan V.; Bolman, Lee G.
-23%
35,99
Bisher 46,99**
35,99
Alle Preise in Euro, inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Gebundenes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar
Bisher 46,99**
35,99
Alle Preise in Euro, inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Gebundenes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Alle Infos zum eBook verschenken
Als Download kaufen
Bisher 46,99**
-23%
35,99
Preis in Euro, inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Gebundenes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar
Abo Download
9,90 / Monat*
*Abopreis beinhaltet vier eBooks, die aus der tolino select Titelauswahl im Abo geladen werden können.

Preis in Euro, inkl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Einmalig pro Kunde einen Monat kostenlos testen (danach 9,90 pro Monat), jeden Monat 4 aus 40 Titeln wählen, monatlich kündbar.

Mehr zum tolino select eBook-Abo
Jetzt verschenken
Bisher 46,99**
-23%
35,99
Preis in Euro, inkl. MwSt.
**Preis der gedruckten Ausgabe (Gebundenes Buch)
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Alle Infos zum eBook verschenken
0 °P sammeln

  • Format: PDF


"Colleges and universities constitute a special type oforganization; and their complex mission, dynamics, personnelstructures, and values require a distinct set of understandings andskills to lead and manage them well." --From the Preface In Reframing Academic Leadership, Lee G. Bolman and JoanV. Gallos offer higher education leaders a provocative andpragmatic guide for * Crafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater thanthe sum of the parts * Creating campus environments that facilitate creativity andcommitment * Forging alliances and partnerships in service of themission *…mehr

Produktbeschreibung
"Colleges and universities constitute a special type oforganization; and their complex mission, dynamics, personnelstructures, and values require a distinct set of understandings andskills to lead and manage them well." --From the Preface In Reframing Academic Leadership, Lee G. Bolman and JoanV. Gallos offer higher education leaders a provocative andpragmatic guide for * Crafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater thanthe sum of the parts * Creating campus environments that facilitate creativity andcommitment * Forging alliances and partnerships in service of themission * Building shared vision and campus cultures that unite andinspire * Serving the larger goals of the academy and society Throughout the book, the authors integrate powerful conceptualframeworks with rich and compelling real-world cases to supportacademic leaders searching for the best in themselves and in theirinstitutions. The book tackles thorny issues such as buildinginstitutional clarity and capacity, managing conflict, coping withdifficult people, partnering with the boss, and developingleadership resilience. Following in the tradition of Bolman and Deal's classicReframing Organizations, Bolman and Gallos emphasize apragmatic approach. They tease out the unique challenges andopportunities in academic leadership and provide ideas, tools, andencouragement to help higher education leaders see more clearly,feel more confident, and become more skilled and versatile inhandling the vicissitudes of daily life. Reframing AcademicLeadership is the resource for those seeking to understand,develop, and manage colleges and universities.

Dieser Download kann aus rechtlichen Gründen nur mit Rechnungsadresse in A, D ausgeliefert werden.

  • Produktdetails
  • Verlag: John Wiley & Sons
  • Seitenzahl: 288
  • Erscheinungstermin: 06.12.2010
  • Englisch
  • ISBN-13: 9780470929254
  • Artikelnr.: 38202840
Autorenporträt
Lee G. Bolman holds the Marion Bloch/Missouri Chair inLeadership at the Henry W. Bloch School of Management at theUniversity of Missouri-Kansas City. He is the coauthor of thebest-selling books Reframing Organizations and Leadingwith Soul from Jossey-Bass.

Joan V. Gallos is professor of leadership, University ofMissouri Curators' Distinguished Teaching Professor, and directorof the Executive MBA program at the Henry W. Bloch School ofManagement at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. She is thecoauthor of Teaching Diversity and the editor ofOrganization Development: A Jossey-Bass Reader andBusiness Leadership: A Jossey-Bass Reader, Second Edition,all from Jossey-Bass.
Inhaltsangabe
Preface.

About the Authors.

Part I Leadership Epistemology: When You Understand, You KnowWhat to Do.

1. Opportunities and Challenges in Academic Leadership.

2. Sensemaking and the Power of Reframing.

3. Knowing What You're Doing: Learning, Authenticity, andTheories for Action.

Part II Reframing Leadership Challenges.

4. Building Clarity and Capacity: Leader as Analyst andArchitect.

5. Respecting and Managing Differences: Leader as CompassionatePolitician.

6. Fostering a Caring and Productive Campus: Leader as Servant,Catalyst, and Coach.

7. Keeping the Faith and Celebrating the Mission: Leader asProphet and Artist.

Part III Sustaining Higher Education Leaders: Courage andHope.

8. Managing Conflict.

9. Leading from the Middle.

10. Leading Difficult People.

11. Managing Your Boss.

12. Sustaining Health and Vitality.

13. Feeding the Soul.

Epilogue: The Sacred Nature of Academic Leadership.

References.

Name Index.

Subject Index.
Rezensionen
"Reframing Academic Leadership is the most comprehensivebook on the topic and an excellent source of knowledge for facultyand managerial leaders in every college and university. Bolman andGallos effectively combine the principles and practices ofeffective leadership with many rich examples and stories ofleadership in practice. An invaluable resource for students ofhigher education leadership!"
--Maureen Sullivan, professor of practice, SimmonsCollege Graduate School of Library and Information Science, and2010 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Librarianof the Year

"Reframing Academic Leadership provides a compassionateunderstanding of the stresses of serving in a leadership capacityin higher education. It is an excellent book for those alreadyserving as administrators in colleges and universities and forthose who aspire to these positions. It offers insights to thosewho do not fully appreciate why higher education is so hard to'manage' and validation for those entirely familiarwith this world. I recommend it enthusiastically to both audiencesas an excellent blend of theoretical ideas and practicalapplications."
--Judith Block McLaughlin, senior lecturer oneducation, director of the Higher Education Program, andeducational chair for the Harvard Seminar for New Presidents,Harvard Graduate School of Education

"In Reframing Academic Leadership, Bolman and Gallosprovide a refreshing view of leadership essential for those who areassuming presidencies and other important leadership positions inhigher education as well as those who bring more conceptual andpractical experiences. No sooner had I read their work when theirnotion of thinking outside the box and elevating the level ofdiscussion through 'reframing' was most useful inresolving a board-related issue that I was facing in my first yearas president of my institution. This work by Bolman and Gallos is abedside reference for aspiring and current leaders in highereducation not only in the U.S. but also abroad."
--Fernando Leon Garcia, rector, Sistema CETYSUniversidad, Baja California, Mexico

"Too often, higher education administrators understand neitherthe organizations they lead, nor the theoriesthat provide them with knowledge they can apply to thiscomplex task. Bolman and Gallos have written a practical, lucidtext that brings together illustrative vignettes and robustframeworks for diagnosing and managing colleges anduniversities. I recommend this book to new and experienced highereducation administrators who will routinely confrontdifficult people, structures, and cultures in theirworkplaces."
--Christopher Morphew, professor and chair, EducationalPolicy and Leadership Studies, College of Education, University ofIowa

"Reframing Academic Leadership is a gem, filled withexamples from days leaders really have. So much of what the authorsespouse is musical: the book reads like an effective guide forleading a chamber music rehearsal, where one's roleconstantly shifts from star to servant and where multiple answersmay be 'right.' Very cool."
--Peter Witte, dean, Conservatory of Music and Dance,University of Missouri-Kansas City
…mehr