Bisher 15,99 €**
13,99 €
versandkostenfrei*

inkl. MwSt.
**Früherer Preis
Sofort lieferbar
7 °P sammeln
    Broschiertes Buch

Being lost in a place you know by heart is one of life's most disconcerting feelings Bennett Driscoll is a Turner Prize nominated artist who was a Bright Young Thing. Now, aged 55, his wife has left him, the reviews have dried up, and his gallery wants to stop selling his paintings, saying they'll have more value retrospectively...when he's dead. So, left with a large West London home and no income, he moves into his painting studio in the back garden and rents out the house, soon reaching status as a Super Host on AirBed. At last, the money is coming in, but he's loveless and, well, lonely.…mehr

Produktbeschreibung
Being lost in a place you know by heart is one of life's most disconcerting feelings Bennett Driscoll is a Turner Prize nominated artist who was a Bright Young Thing. Now, aged 55, his wife has left him, the reviews have dried up, and his gallery wants to stop selling his paintings, saying they'll have more value retrospectively...when he's dead. So, left with a large West London home and no income, he moves into his painting studio in the back garden and rents out the house, soon reaching status as a Super Host on AirBed. At last, the money is coming in, but he's loveless and, well, lonely. Turns out his house guests are as quirky, lost and entertaining as Bennett himself, unwittingly unlocking the parts of Bennett's life that have been forgotten to him for too long, but can they help him feel less lost in the place he knows best? Wry, rueful and rich in observation, SUPER HOST provides a delicious portrait of middle-age, marriage, and the underlying fears and loneliness that colour so many lives.
  • Produktdetails
  • Verlag: Headline Publishing Group
  • Artikelnr. des Verlages: 739663
  • Seitenzahl: 362
  • Erscheinungstermin: 9. Februar 2021
  • Englisch
  • Abmessung: 233mm x 152mm x 32mm
  • Gewicht: 442g
  • ISBN-13: 9781472270030
  • ISBN-10: 1472270037
  • Artikelnr.: 59369176
Autorenporträt
Kate Russo grew up in Maine in the US and now divides her time between there and the UK. She has an M.F.A. in painting from the Slade School of Fine Art and exhibits in both the UK and US.
Rezensionen
One of:
The New York Times Book Review's 13 New Books to Watch For in February
Entertainment Weekly's Best New Books to Read in February
Boston Magazine's 42 Books to Help You Get Through the Rest of Quarantine
Lit Hub's Most Anticipated Books of 2021
PureWow's 9 Books We Can't Wait to Read in February

Russo s clever debut evokes a time when travel wasn t so fraught and strangers could get close enough to learn something about themselves. The New York Times Book Review (Editors Choice)

"Brimming with...pure affection." The New York Times Book Review

Here s that rare thing: a wise, literary novel that is also funny as hell...the perfect antidote to this time of being shut in at home. Super Host gives me hope for the future, when we can all open our doors, and our hearts, once more. Jennifer Finney Boylan, Buzzfeed

The Airbnb-novel genre grows with this highly-readable story. Entertainment Weekly

"[Russo] is a visual artist herself, and she handles Bennett's relationship problems and his artistic resurgence confidently, with wit, wisdom and humor." Minneapolis Star Tribune

"[A] candid and captivating portrait of middle age...[and] what it truly means to take a new chance at life." PureWow

"Smart, enjoyable, clever but earnest contemporary comic novel about a likeable, seemingly hapless but resourceful, as it turns out failing artist who sublets his quite fancy apartment to fairly well off nuisances." Shawangunk Journal

Funny, sharp, and artistic A wonderful book flanked with irony, perversity, Rear Window voyeurism, and women who understand the task of reinvention, Super Host is a case study of what we talk about when we talk about success. Lit Hub

[A] witty, enjoyable debut Russo is a formidable talent, and readers will be eager to see what she does next. Publishers Weekly

Kate Russo s novel hasn t yet been compared to Eleanor [Oliphant Is Completely Fine], but it should be. The character at its heart is the perfect blend of impossible and beloved, and the story is handled with a mix of wise humor and compassion. BookPage

A painter herself, Russo makes the act of creating art come alive, while effectively limning her characters in this incisive study of contemporary life. Library Journal

In Russo s charming and poignant debut the author writes with warm sympathy and humor. A treat for fans of Nick Hornby and Tom Perrotta. Kirkus Reviews

[A] pleasantly quirky debut Bennett is a comfortable character to get to know, as is the London through which he ambles. Booklist

"Super Host isn't just a charming, compulsively readable, romantically suspenseful novel about a lonely man who gets himself emotionally enmeshed with a series of short-term tenants. Kate Russo's wise and funny debut also has a lot to say about the neighborhoods of London, the frustrations and satisfactions of making art, and the courage it takes to start over in the middle of your life. It's a joy from start to finish." Tom Perrotta

I gobbled up Super Host, Kate Russo s smart, funny, and surprising first novel. She writes with such a generous and insightful eye about love, loneliness and artistic ambition, and has redrawn the lines that connect people in fiction through the most modern and unlikely of settings, the home share. Jess Walter

"This is the compulsively readable story of Bennett, a once-famous artist now divorced and impoverished, who lives in his garden studio and spies on his tenants through the windows. Super Host is hilarious, and touching, too; Kate Russo is a terrific storyteller." Claire Messud

Kate Russo s debut Super Host is pure delight smart, fun, poignant, and deeply satisfying. I loved it. Lily King

"Kate Russo's delightful novel is deft, fast, and startling. I could have sworn I was right there, and I never wanted to leave." Luis Alberto Urrea
…mehr