22,99 €
versandkostenfrei*

inkl. MwSt.
Versandfertig vorauss. in 4 Wochen
11 °P sammeln

    Gebundenes Buch

"Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock's Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar…. A thrilling, arresting debut." -Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here "[A] singular debut. . . . [Hitchcock] weav[es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice." -The Wall Street Journal This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and…mehr

Produktbeschreibung
"Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock's Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar…. A thrilling, arresting debut." -Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here "[A] singular debut. . . . [Hitchcock] weav[es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice." -The Wall Street Journal This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America's Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent. Ruth has a secret that she can't hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she's always known on her family's fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it's safer to run away than to stay home-until one of them ends up in terrible danger. Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable William C. Morris Award finalist is about people who try to save each other-and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed. Praise: William C. Morris Finalist Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction Tayshas Reading List-Top 10 List New York Public Library's Best 50 Books for Teens Chicago Public Library, Best of the Best List Shelf Awareness, Best Children's & Teen Books of the Year Nominated to the Oklahoma Sequoya Book Award Master List Nominated to the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award "Hitchcock's debut resonates with the timeless quality of a classic. This is a fascinating character study-a poetic interweaving of rural isolation and coming-of-age." -John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Where Things Come Back and Highly Illogical Behavior "As an Alaskan herself, Bonnie Sue Hitchcock is able to bring alive this town, and this group of poor teens and their families that live there." -Bustle.com
  • Produktdetails
  • Verlag: WENDY LAMB BOOKS
  • Seitenzahl: 240
  • Altersempfehlung: ab 12 Jahre
  • Erscheinungstermin: 23. Februar 2016
  • Englisch
  • Abmessung: 218mm x 139mm x 25mm
  • Gewicht: 346g
  • ISBN-13: 9780553497793
  • ISBN-10: 0553497790
  • Artikelnr.: 42954066
Autorenporträt
Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock was born and raised in Alaska. She worked many years fishing commercially with her family and as a reporter for Alaska Public Radio stations around the state. She was also the host and producer of "Independent Native News," a daily newscast produced in Fairbanks, focusing on Alaska Natives, American Indians, and Canada's First Nations. Her writing is inspired by her family's four generations in Alaska.